A Word from our Pastor, Bob Johnson

Posted: April 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

Life in “the ministry” is at times like living in a fishbowl.  People watch you and even talk about you (not you of course, but others have been known to).  You know that going in, but it still can be a bit unnerving.  It’s not that you have anything to hide, but I guess it’s the idea of being managed by the expectations of others that can be burdensome.  You have to make decisions based on information that you have, which everyone else is not privy to, all the while knowing that others will talk about your decisions.  So, it is a bit odd for me to hijack Patrick’s blog and write about Patrick and Dena since I feel like I am telling secrets from inside the fishbowl.  And yet, God in His counsels has called them to walk this road, which means that He has called us to walk alongside of them, so, we do.  How do we do this?

  1. We do not quit.  The gospel of Christ enables us to see beyond this life and emboldens us to face everything that this life gives us.
  2. We do not pretend.  I watch Patrick, by God’s grace stare at ALS, accept the limitations (sometimes with tears, sometimes with humor) and press on.
  3. We do not hide.  We talk about what is happening, but realize that Christ is the one who defines us, not a temporary disease.
  4. We do not waste the days.  For Patrick and Dena, for us, every day is a gift to be treasured and a deposit to be made.
  5. We do what we can.  We pray.  We encourage.  We give.  As time goes on, some of the needs will evolve.  But here are a couple of opportunities to consider:

Patrick and I thought it wise that you get to hear from him what he is learning about God through all of this.  Is the gospel of Christ and the truth about God that he has preached to others been sufficient for his own soul?  On SUNDAY, APRIL 22, in our morning worship service at 10:45 a.m., Patrick is going to be speaking on “The Sovereignty of God.”  He knows that his ability to speak is being taken away, and before that happens, he wants to speak to us about this.  If you know someone who would benefit from this, please invite them to come.

Patrick and Dena need some modifications to their home and the work has begun.  Cornerstone Baptist Church is covering the cost of these from our Fellowship Fund.  A number of you have asked about any financial needs, so I am simply making you aware of what we have committed to do.  If you want to help replenish the funds that are going toward this project, you can make a check out to Cornerstone Baptist Church and designate it for the Fellowship Fund.

2 Corinthians 4:16  So, we do not lose heart.  Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 


Comments
  1. Alan Bonjour says:

    Very much looking forward to hearing Patrick on the 22nd!

  2. Del Warbington says:

    Thank you with all my heart Pastor Bob, Patrick, Dena and family. I will be sure to invite whom I can that I know will benefit, since my family is one that has been touched directly by ALS and is in deep need of hearing, not only the Gospel of Jesus Christ, but also how Sovereign He is over all our lives.
    To GOD be the Glory!
    Del Warbington

  3. Tim Vermilyea says:

    Patrick… thanks for letting your pastor “hijack” the blog today! Great blessing to read him – as it is to read you. Praise God for the opportunity you will have on April 22. Definitely be praying for you as you share – you have move to say about God’s sovreignty that most of us these days! And I also praise God for the body of Christ in action on your behalf – way to go Cornerstone Baptist Church!!

    • Mary Alice Stahl says:

      Patrick and Dena I am forever thinking of all of you and your family and praying for all of you too. I am on your side and I am here to help in any way that you need so do not hesitate to call on me. I want to know what my family can do for you and yours? I want to employ you Dena to take Ted’s senior pictures I know that you do a great job and this is for me to show your work to my family to maybe get the word out to them to ask you to do it for their family too. I love you both and God be with you always and forever !!!!! Love ya Mary Stahl

  4. Mel Stull says:

    Praying for you today that the Lord will shrink wrap you in His peace. Song that has ministered to my soul during chemo treatments called Hope Now by Addison Road

    When my life is like a storm
    Rising waters all I want is the shore
    You say I’ll be ok and
    Make it through the rain
    You are my shelter from the storm

  5. Tina Winner says:

    Thank you so much for all you do for Patrick and Dena – I appreciate the love and strength you give them –
    Tina Winner

Leave a Reply

