Overflowing

Posted: April 26, 2012 in Uncategorized

Words can not express how full of joy my heart was throughout this past weekend.  Friends and family came and packed out our auditorium to hear what God laid on my heart.  From TN, NC, PA, NY, NJ, KY, OH, IL, IN, IA, CO, & AL they came.  Some flew, some drove, but all came to show their love and we were completely overwhelmed by it. All 12 former interns were here. Locally, we were supported by several co-workers from Prevail, families and schoolmates from Lutheran North and our fantastic neighbors.  Many former teens from around the area came along with their young spouses and babies; Even my friends from Fifth Third Bank and Dena’s hair dresser showed up.

But more importantly, God showed up.  I have never preached for one hour.  I don’t know what I expected when I prepared a message the way I normally do, yet my mouth and speech are anything but normal.  So what should have been 3o minutes lasted twice as long;  Normally I am closely tuned to the clock.  On Sunday, it seemed like time stood still.  I got out what I wanted to say;  there were some embarrassing moments of laughing too hard and some vulnerable moments of losing it with tears, but to the best of my ability, I said what I needed to say. I know that the prayers on my behalf were heard and God answered by allowing my speech to be clear enough to be understood.

It’s only been a few days, but the response has been amazing.  E-mails, cards and blog posts have been written kindly telling me about what the message meant specifically to each author.  I appreciate hearing about how God is working!  I don’t know the end of the story yet, but I know God is writing it and I am along for the ride.  And oh what a ride it is!

Special note to my Cornerstone family:  THANK-YOU for everything…you gave me space to be with my loved ones I don’t see often; you provided nourishment for me and my friends; you hosted my guests in your homes; and you continued to show forth God’s love.

Our cup is overflowing.

Proverbs 11:25 “He who refreshes others will himself be refreshed.”

In the next few days, we will the video of the message available on the blog.

Comments
  1. Violet Fiddes says:

    Dave and I brought the kids to hear you preach last Sunday because we wanted them to hear what a Christian says when things get tough. Thank you for being willing to speak though it was difficult for you. The impact of what you said will last a lifetime in each of us! God used your words in a tremendous way!

  2. Russ Arbuckle says:

    Patrick we should and are thanking you for the message you brought forward. A hour is so small a time when you spend it with God in the house. What a joy to see the laughter and tears that over took you. Don’t care about that. You gave us the message strong and hopefully someone in that crowd was saved? AMEN! I almost had to go out and go to the cafe to start a pot of “firehouse” coffee. Ha!

  3. Helen Millson (Dela Cruz) says:

    Hi Pastor Pat,
    I’m sure you remember the Dela Cruz family from Calvary it’s kinda hard to forget a crazy family of 11 kids.
    If you need the memory jolt I was always the one getting in trouble;) Needless to say God did/does good work in me I turned out just fine married & 2 babies.
    I’ve been following your blog from the beginning
    you inspire me. You & your family will always be in my prayers & will continue to follow your journey.
    In Him,
    Helen

  4. Laurie Switzer says:

    Patrick, I am thrilled that you will be posting your message. We so wanted to be there that day! You are in our prayers and thoughts daily! Thank you for being so transparent and allowing us to watch God working through you!

  5. michael agnello says:

    patrick you are amazing.the way you allow God to flow through you is even more amazing. i ordered 10 cds of sunday as i want to share the message with others and my children have friends they want to share it with. its time to harvest. God bless you and your family. thank you for being you
    michael agnello

  6. Phyllis says:

    Patrick, THANK YOU for making the message of salvation so clear! May God continue to speak to the hearts of those who ‘hear’, that they might turn to Him and accept His gift. Our prayers are continuing for you and your family. May God continue to bless and use you. Sending our love, Bill and Phyllis

  7. Mandi says:

    Sorry we couldn’t be there but I was praying for you during the service that I was in. God put your name in my mind as soon as we started singing at the service on Sunday.

  8. Mel Stull says:

    Hey bro, thought of the Mc Goldricks when I read this from Spurgeon this morning:

    Our Lord Jesus is King in Zion by right of conquest: He has taken the hearts of His people by storm and has defeated their enemies who held them in cruel bondage. In the Red Sea of His own blood, our Redeemer has drowned the Pharaoh of our sins: Shall He not be Lord and King? He has delivered us from sin’s dominion and from the heavy curse of the law: Shall not the Liberator be crowned? We are His portion, whom He has taken out of the hand of the enemy with His sword and with His bow: Who will snatch His conquest from His hand? All hail, King Jesus! We gladly own Your gentle sway! Rule in our hearts forever, You lovely Prince of Peace. Charles Spurgeon

    Amen and Amen. Mel Stull

  9. dennisginnard says:

    God bless you, Patrick, for telling the unfiltered truth about our faithful God, Christ and the gospel. It was not a position or an opportunity that anyone wanted for you, but you did not waste it. Glory to God in all things as every one of us makes our way home . . .

  10. kcrutchf says:

    Patrick, You’re message on Sunday was a blessing! Thank you for sharing your story, not only of your current struggles, but of how you found the difference between living for the world and living for Jesus. Put so simply, yet so powerful. I’m with you, it’s definately better to live a life, no matter how short, for the Lord than to live a long, long, life for yourself!
    God bless and keep you, Dena, Paige and Parker.

  11. Julie Bedford says:

    Oh Patrick and Dina what you did for Allyson prepared her for rough waters. Ron and I have always been thankful to you two. We prayed for you on Sunday for your strength.. Love Ron & Julie

  12. Tim & Lisa Davis says:

    Your message was very powerful…and it was the parts that you call embarrassing and vulnerable that made it so real and from the heart. I will forever remember your message and how God’s hand has directed you right where you need to be. You have an amazing family and I am so blessed to know you all. I’m so thankful my kids heard you speak so openly and from the heart about God’s grace and God’s plan. Thank you.

  13. Darlene Krucker says:

    Amen and Amen! Powerful message Christ was center and you presented an awesome message! To God be the Glory! Prayers Hugs and Love sent to you all!

  14. Patti-Jo Roberts says:

    Such a powerful message- it has stayed with us ever since. I must say, I never expected to laugh!

Leave a Reply

