Thank – FULL

Posted: May 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

Today I am a thankful man. God has blessed me in so many ways.  I have a peace beyond any human understanding of knowing that my God is in complete control of my life every day, hour, minute and second.  With that I have been reflecting on the blessings of God in my life.

It saddens me to think of someone going through a terminal illness without God and without His Word.  It makes more sense now why some without God go off the deep end, looking to fill their pain with drugs, alcohol, other addictions or even suicide.  My “end” is just the beginning.  This life I live is a comma in the grand scheme of God’s time table.

A few specifics for which I am thankful for today:

1)  Our bathroom has been renovated and is much easier for me to get ready in now.

2) My family continues to be patient with me, even when each week brings a new challenge.

3) Friends who come over anytime I call to help me move furniture, fix my lawnmower, or simply hang something.

4) Driving my Vibe with the help of the “suicide” knob. You should see me take those sharp corners.  Dena says when she sees me on two wheels, she’s taking my keys away!

5) Listening to Christian radio in the car.

6) My weight continues to remain steady at just under 200 pounds.  It’s important that I not lose more or I may have to have a feeding tube inserted.  But right now I am still enjoying food through the regular method.  And for once the doctor’s are advising me to eat everything “bad!”  Amen and Amen!

7) Laughter, even though I squeak like a 6 year old girl…(no kidding, he really does)

8) Sitting on my front porch reading, as the sun sets.

9) The sound of my kids and their friends…teens are still my favorite people to be around!

10) My wonderful, gracious church family of Cornerstone.

On Sunday I was able to once again share my story, this time a few hours west at Northbridge Church in Kalamazoo.  I was in seminary when Ray was in college.  He and his wife, Grace, have an amazing ministry going there.  I appreciated getting reacquainted with them and seeing how God has used them.

So today I am full of thanks.

Philippians 4:6 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Comments
  1. jaredsayers says:

    Patrick,
    Thanks for this reminder. I really needed it! My time here in Chile is going rather well. You are on my mind often and I make sure to bring you and the family up in prayer. I was also able to share a bit of your story with some of the missionaries here as well as some of our Chilean brothers & sisters. So, you are being prayed for internationally, although I wouldn’t doubt you were before!
    I hope to be able share this expletive with you when I get back.
    Grace & Peace my friend!
    Jared

  2. Darlene Krucker says:

    I’m thankful for you! Thank you for being Gods Servant and preaching the word of God to our teens and us adults! We are blessed! We continue to lift you all in our prayers! Have a good week!! Mike Darlene and Katrina

  3. Jane Miniard says:

    What an inspiration! Thank you for reminding me how much I have to be thankful for! Praying for you and your family.

  4. Becky Coplen says:

    Patrick and Dena, I am so thankful I get to read these blog articles (they always bring either tears or laughter or both), and get to hear how God is working in many ways. For those of us who don’t get to see you on a weekly basis, but still think/pray for you all the time, it’s nice to hear the important details about the bathroom getting done, and how you are encouraged to “eat” the bad stuff! Thanks for being so transparent and allowing us all to be encouraged. I look forward to the next post! And if you want some “bad” food, next time you and Jason get together have him take you to Achatz on Jefferson, every kind of burger, fry, shake etc…. 🙂

  5. ruby heisler says:

    Thank you for continuing to minister to me and hundreds of others. They are all powerful messages that need to be heard. With love from Kentucky, Ruby Heisler

  6. Stacey McCarthy-Young says:

    As I just finished journaling, that verse and on thru 8 were written as the beginning of my pages! Thank You for the courage to tell us the struggles, but yet God’s promises! You and Dena have always been on our hearts since September 9, 1995 when you married us! Thank You for being God’s tool!

  7. Russ Arbuckle says:

    Thank you again Patrick for your light to shine bright that God has given you. You know you
    are blessed by the Spirit of God and that He is with you always. What reassurance. Love, Grace, and Peace Always. Russ Arbuckle

  8. Carl & Lori Reichanadter says:

    Patrick, You are an encouragement to many my friend. Carl

  9. Tom and Lee Ann Hedges says:

    We too are thankful for the small things. Going to our granddaughters graduation this week, out to eat with friends, that Tom can still walk all be it with a walker and our wonderful friendsand our Lord who makes all things possible!

  10. Sandy Love says:

    What a wonderful testimony you have Pat. May God bless you richly.

  11. lorie smith says:

    AMEN!, love having a spinner knob, tooooooooo

  12. Mandi says:

    I have been praying for you and Dena ALOT!! I am glad you have the right perspective. We all face our trials but wow you have been offered a big one. Love you both!!!

  13. Larry Hait says:

    Dear Brother Patrick; God bless you for your steadfastness durning these times. We pray that God will continue to strengthen you in the inner man. Eph 3:16

    Larry/Barb

  14. Shirley Piatek says:

    Patrick you are such an encouragement to us! We continue to pray for you, for Dena, for Paige and for Parker! Thank You for sharing your journey with us, for your positive attitude, and for your encouraging, uplifting blogs! We love you!

  15. Lisa Davis says:

    I have nothing to say to this but thank you for taking us on your journey.

  16. Dale and Cheryl Murrish says:

    And we are thankful for you, Patrick and Dena, and the Light that shines through you. We are thankful for our Faithful Father in Whose shade you can rest because of the work of His Precious Son. We are richer for the ministry of your life. Love, Dale and Cheryl

  17. Lisa Kotal says:

    Patrick,

    You continue to amaze me and I am so thankful for you. The way you are handling your trial while we all watch and pray for you! You are a blessing to us.

    Your Sister in Christ,
    Lisa

  18. Ron & Betty Tucker says:

    Your story is a continual blessing to Ron and I. May the Lord, we all love, continue to “supply His sufficient grace” to you and your family. Wonderful to see the pics of your beautiful daughter at her graduation. You and Dena are “beautiful” also……inside and out! Prayers uplifted regularly for y’all!
    Ron and Betty Tucker

  19. Mel Stull says:

    Hey bro, here is a great song called “When Love Sees You” sung by Max Powell from Third Day:

    Tell Me your story, show Me your wounds
    And I’ll show you what Love sees when Love looks at you
    Hand Me the pieces, broken and bruised
    And I’ll show you what Love sees when Love sees you

    I see what I made in your mother’s womb
    And I see the day I fell in love with you
    I see your tomorrows, nothing left to chance
    I see My Father’s fingerprints

    I see your story, I see My name
    Written on every beautiful page
    You see the struggle, you see the shame
    I see the reason I came

    I came for your story, I came for your wounds
    To show you what Love sees when I see you

    Yeah, yeah, when I see you
    When I see you, oh, whoa, whoa

  20. shaddy.shadrach@gmail.com says:

    I am looking for Ron and Betty tucker’s phone number. Am from India, and I believe this couple were missionaries there. Am trying to contact them. Can you help? B. Shadrach (shaddy.shadrach@gmail.com)

Leave a Reply

